What’s Your Hobby?

There is a quite interesting office test I went through few years ago. Every applicant who has gone through the last test is required to make an analysis and presentation using a string of market data. Other than that, there is an extra task to do: making one presentation slide explaining about my own hobby.

I don’t know about other countries culture; but in Indonesia here, most of people are tend to be confused when they are asked about “what’s your hobby?” Therefore, there is some most common “hobby” mentioned by people:

  • Reading books
  • Watching movies
  • Listening to music/song
  • Travelling (travelling here include: walking around department stores, it doesn’t necessary travelling to other cities or to other travel sites – well maybe it’s better to be called “wandering around” :P)

Let’s get back to what is hobby first; based on Wikipedia, “hobbies are practiced for interest and enjoyment, rather than financial reward. Examples include collecting, creative and artistic pursuits, making, tinkering, sports and adult education”.

I am not saying that people who mentioned reading books, watching movies, or listening to music/song are just clueless about their hobby, it just we need to re-look, and redefine is that really our hobby? Are those really our interest? Are we really enjoying the process of doing those things? If you are able to say yes for both questions, it is your hobby anyway.

Why am I writing about hobby? I remember, once a person who I really look for among my colleagues, said “hobby is the way of balancing your life, everyday; you’ve been working from days to nights. What’s balancing? Hobby will do it for you”. Since then, I kept on asking what’s hobby for me, it’s not supposed to be what I am good at, it just what I love to do the most. Wikipedia gave a very good example, a Chef love and interested in playing game, while a Professional Gamers love to do cooking. When you are doing it as a numeration, I agree, it’s no longer a hobby. In my humble opinion, when you said I love my current job because it is my hobby, I’ll going to response, it is no longer your hobby. You’ve just upgraded your hobby definition into “passion”. I think it has quite significant difference.

 

So, I passed the test, I got the job, and my hobby is reading books ;). I am interested in books: the content, the writer, the mind mapping of the writers, the layout, the papers, the cover, the borders, the size, and every little detail in the books. I enjoy reading, I got some “me” time by reading, and if I found out the story very interesting, I am able to tell you the full detailed story.

What’s your hobby mate? 🙂

Jakarta, February 2nd, 2012. When I realized I haven’t spent too much time reading my books collections.

Leave a Reply

