Next Chapter’s Opening: First Week

Last week, I was all gloomy; who thought that a week passed by so fast? There is a quote saying that “every firsts are the hardest”. To think of that, it is true that parting ways with the “family” is hard; but learning new things is not hard. I would like to replace the word from “hard” into “interesting”.

On my previous trip to Bali, we went to Waterboom. Of course, there are a lot of tourists there: from adult, teens, kids, and even infants. In one of the ride’s queue, a cute little girl asked her dad: “Daddy, will it be scary?”, her father answered: “No, sweetheart, it will be FUN.” We practically smiled brightly for that father’s answer. It was her first time taking a quite extreme ride (well, we know that water park’s ride is usually a high slides) and her father had just change her mind set of seeing things.

 

I am using this method for the first week. I am not going to bluff out that I am not scared at all; to be honest, deep inside – it is really scary to have a new step. Especially when you are stepping it by your own. It has been a while that I feel secure inside a shell; I knew exactly the condition, the rules, and everything insides. But now, I really need to break the shell and moving on my own. BUT, I kept encouraging myself, the scary part could stay, as long as it is on the bottom rank of all feelings/moods I brought at the first day. That scary part cannot be removed, because it makes me human.

So, I stepped in, trying my best to show what I am capable of. And then, without me realizing, first day has finished, with quite a lot of introductions of the company basics. How’s the first day? Is it good? Let’s see, I went home without lacking on anything; ah, I survived the first day then :).

 

Then, second day came, in the morning, I was asked to join the meeting with my previous company (basically, my previous work place is the best market research company in Indonesia for retails; currently, my company is one of my previous company’s biggest clients). This is really interesting, to sit down in different side of point of view. I was forced to switch the view fast, from the agency side, to the client side. The level of challenge had just increased 1 points *getting excited*. At noon, it turns out there is another training on “Shopper Behavior”; as soon as the training finished, another few points – again – just added for the challenge’s level.

Somehow, third day has became the “welcoming day” for me, as suddenly, my help was needed as the previous handler was over loaded; and there was sudden request there. That day, was the first for me having lunch and working at the same time. No matter how busy I was, I was able to manage my lunch time, but that day, it was totally out of control. I am not proud of it, and obviously not making it as a habit. But, you know, it was urgent. When I got back home that day, I just realized that my eyes are really tired of looking those numbers. Funny thing was again, this is interesting.

 

Along this week, my colleague explained in a very great structured way (I respect her a lot of making this new things easier for me to learn) about every job’s routine that need to be done along the year. The more she talk, the more I am confused. The more I confused, the more I curious. The more I curious, the more I am getting excited. It’s like we are looking at the new toys, even though we have played with the small part of the toys, as the toys are bigger now, there are a lot of new parts to be played with. Here’s the reality, yes, I am getting more scared, with the thought of: “What if I cannot do it? What if I cannot perform?”, but again, I realized that others survived, which means I will be as well.

I just need to change my mind set to: “It will be FUN” 🙂

 

 

Karawaci, 28 October 2011 on opening week of the next chapter in life.

 

Leave a Reply

